Little Act Of Kindness

I love reading ‘The little act of kindness’ section in the Reader’s Digest. The stories people share are sure to bring smile on your face and believe in the fact that the world still contains kind and loving people. Every time you hear or read about such pleasant experience someone else might have been through, it forces you to think whether or not have you been through something that could be worth sharing? Has someone with their little but yet valued act of kindness made your life easier, even for a minute? If not easier but has given you the reason to believe that helping someone doesn’t always mean solving their problems, it could also mean making that distressed person realize that whether or not one could  make other’s problems go away but one can make them believe they don’t have to make it through alone. We all have our own journey to complete, our own turmoils, our own celebrations and our own hurdles to surpass; but a little benevolence and consideration from the one’s walking along struggling with their own journey can make the path easier. I’m not referring to the family and friends and their consideration towards us. Of course these are the people who make sure you don’t have to go through your destined path alone. Their love and kindness is the lubrication of our vehicle of life. Along the road of our life with the love and consideration of our family, our friends and these chosen one’s are the forces that keep us moving; but what makes this journey a beautiful and pleasant trip are those little acts of kindness that you’re been showered with by those strangers that you bump into from time to time on this road trip. Those random but yet significant acts of compassion make it worthy to reminisce our journey once we reach our destination.

I remember I was going to a friend’s place once, as the usual road that I used to take was closed due to the work in progress I had to take a detour. I wasn’t quite aware of that alternative route I had to take so in order to avoid getting lost I stopped and asked a gentleman to show me the way. That person might have been just a few years younger than my father and upon my asking for direction and explaining where I wanted to go he asked me to follow him. He made sure I reached my destination safe and sound and went out of his usual way to help me out. After I reached there he stopped his car, got out and advised me to be careful and showed real concern about my safety. He just sounded like my father while showing concern as if I were his very own daughter. I couldn’t thank him enough and bade him goodbye filled with gratitude. It’s been almost a year but I still couldn’t forget that concerned and kind look on his face. He was just a stranger on the road who showed me the way but left his mark on my memories pretty much for ever! On another occasion a very seamless but yet a very heartfelt act of such empathy and humanity that I wouldn’t forget till my heart stops beating. My father was in the hospital and taking his last breath, I was there with him in his last moments. Watching a parent taking their last breath is the most excruciating human experience one has to go through, and it was just me and my brothers. After he passed away I remember the bunch of nurses who were hovering over him with the doctors trying to ease the pain in his last moments did not let me feel that I was alone at that moment. Though they were complete strangers, just doing their jobs but their compassion touched me. There were the two of the female nurses, they comforted me, said the right things and didn’t leave my side until they were sure I could pull it together. That was the last time I ever saw either of them and they both probably don’t even remember me anymore; but their single hug at that most painful moment of my life, their few words of condolences would never let me forget them. Every time I pray to Almighty for the people who have made a difference in my life with their love and kindness, I never forget to mention those two strangers who firmed my belief in the humanity.

Kindness is probably is the easiest thing to share but leaves a biggest impact on the person. You can’t change anything that’s been done, you probably can’t do anything to subdue the pain a person is going through, but the display of your kindness can probably help them make it through the day. A smile to someone is enough to make a person feel alive who’s just had probably the worst day of his/her life. Just a simple Hello would suffice for a person to realize that he/she isn’t alone through this journey. You never know your one insignificant display of compassion could be enough to compel that person to pray for you for the rest of their life! It’s a win win! Spread the kindness, it finds its way back to you!

About Sana Farzand

Blabber of an unsound mind!

One response to “Little Act Of Kindness”

  1. Daisy says :

    the layout of the site is awesome, this will attract many newbie…keep it up.http://www.divulgaemail.com

Leave a comment